Quick Review – The Grimrose Girls

The Grimrose Girls. Four friends, one murder, and a dark fate that may leave them all doomed …

After the mysterious death of their best friend, Ella, Yuki, and Rory are the talk of their elite school, Grimrose Académie. The police ruled Ariane’s death as a suicide, but the trio is determined to find out what really happened.

When Nani Eszes arrives as their newest roommate, it sets into motion a series of events that no one could have predicted. As the girls retrace their friend’s final days, they discover a dark secret about Grimrose–Ariane wasn’t the first dead girl.

They soon learn that all the past murders are connected to ancient fairy-tale curses … and that their own fates are tied to the stories, dooming the girls to brutal and gruesome endings unless they can break the cycle for good.

Note: I’m coming to realize that I don’t always have the motivation to write more than quick review for books. Normally I like to lay out all of the pros & cons, but this is especially hard to do when I enjoyed the majority of the book. So today, I thought I would start with a new section of “quick reviews” to give a couple of main thoughts on this book and my overall rating. I hope you all enjoy!

Representation: biromantic/demisexual mc with anxiety and OCD, Japanese/aromantic/asexual mc, lesbian mc with fibromyalgia, half-Black/half-Native Hawaiian/fat/lesbian mc, trans/sapphic side character, black/sapphic side character.

This was a really interesting concept but a lot of it fell flat. I think the author struggled to make the characters unique enough that their individual storylines were recognizable. Maybe this would have been better physically read versus audio – which is odd because normally I do better with multiple POVs if I’m listening to it.

I did enjoy the amount of representation, which for the most part did not seem like it was just slapped on there for “diversity bingo” or whatever.

I’m still unsure if I’ll continue to book two

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started